Learning can become a Hobby

When I was thirteen, my grandmother tried to teach me to crochet. I didn’t want to do it, so I didn’t. It looked boring and hard. Now that she’s gone, I wish that I had used that time to learn with her, the master in my opinion. It would have been more than learning to thread a huge needle through a piece of yarn. It would have been more time that I got to spend with an amazing woman. Now, I want to learn so that I can continue her work. She made blankets for all of her grandchildren and continued that tradition with her great-grandchildren. My twins, Maddisun and Mackenzie have one each, but the baby, Lillian, never met her, so she doesn’t have that heirloom, though she does carry my grandma’s name (Her middle name is Janice-Sue).

I need something to do other than read (though if given half a chance I’d do just that all the time!), so now that I have the opportunity to do so, I’ve decided to do as my grandmother wanted, and learn to crochet. With her, I never got past the slip-knot. Now I wish she were here to teach me. Learning this on my own is not an easy undertaking. She taught me to sew, which I am proficient in, and cook, which according to her is why I “caught me a man”. I know it seems like I’m going on and on about my grandma, but, she taught me so much, she had a great impact on my life. If I can be half as awesome as she was, half as amazing and perfect, I’ll be doing well. She was always the rock in my life when everything was falling apart. She always answered her phone when I needed someone to talk to. When she learned to text, she texted me everyday. And don’t even get me started on Facebook! When I lost her, I didn’t just lose my grandmother, I lost my best friend.

photograph courtesy of nekoman85 deviantart.com
photograph courtesy of nekoman85 deviantart.com

I know that this isn’t what anyone wants to read about, but it’s good background as to why I’ve chosen to learn to crochet (finally!). I’m not overly creative, or crafty, but I want to learn something that I can pass on to my girls, and maybe my grandkids. I can be like my grandmother. I can be the Janice in our family, the one who cooks like an angel, who always has the answers, and makes things from yarn by hand. It may be later than she wanted, but I hope she knows that I’m finally making the effort for her.

16 thoughts on “Learning can become a Hobby

  1. I can really relate to you here. My grandmother passed away 2 years ago and I’m just kicking myself for not taking time to learn to crochet with her, learn her tricks to the perfect chocolate chip cookies, and the recipe for the most delicious cabbage buns. But I’m like you, now I want to learn so I can pass it on to the next generation. I like that you say, “If I can be half as awesome as she was, half as amazing and perfect, I’ll be doing well” because I feel that same way about my grandma. Sometimes I think our passion is greater than our hobby & that makes it special. It’s great that you are pursuing this hobby in memory of your wonderful grandmother! Best of luck to you, I look forward to your weekly updates on your progress!

    Like

    1. It’s hard to lose someone you’re so close to, and I’m glad that so many people understand why I’m taking this on. I think it’s going to be harder to learn on my own rather than learn from her, but I’m trying. It’s going well, I think. I’m looking forward to learning this hobby and I also want to pass it on to my girls, so they have a piece of the woman who was such a huge influence on me.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I can relate to you as well my grandmother passed away 6 years ago and I miss her everyday. What I really miss is watching her sew, man she was really good. Someday I want to learn to sew like her, just like how you want to pass it down that is what I want to do too. I wish you the best of luck and can’t wait to see what you create.

    Like

    1. Thank you. I think this is going to go well. I’m learning a lot from “Crocheting for Dummies” because I don’t know anyone who I can learn from. I want my kids to be able to look back and say that their mother made the most amazing scarves, and I want to be able to hand make blankets for my grandchildren. I’m just so glad that I have this opportunity and the motivation for it.

      Like

  3. My condolences. It sounds like your grandmother was quite the incredible woman! Although sad that you were unable to to crochet with her, it is incredible that you will be following in her legacy! It is always difficult to loose someone that we love and cherish, but the memories that we have can never be taken away. I’m glad that you will have this opportunity to sort of reconnect with her memory through this experience!

    Like

    1. I am also glad that I have to do it for a class because I’ll actually do it! Before this, I wanted to take crocheting on, but I always put it off, but because I have to learn it for school, I know I’ll do it. I’m already learning so much! I’m so glad that I get to do it, and I hope your project is going well.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. This kinda makes me think; I know nothing about cars. Whatsoever. They might as well be magic to me.

    Still, my dad does my best to try to teach me when I’m at home. I usually go out and help him (and by help, I mean fetch tools, parts, hold the flashlight, etc.). I don’t retain a whole lot of it, but I’m still thankful for the time with him, and that he’s at least trying to get through my thick skull. I’m too much of a nerd to be good with cars. His passions are engineering, woodworking, stuff like that – and I admire it immensely. They’re skills I wish I had, but don’t have the drive for.

    Like

  5. Your story really made me think about my own life. Thank you for sharing. I had some insight about my own Grandma and how I need to appreciate all the chances in my life. I really liked this story. Sounds like you will get to crochet now 🙂 Good luck. My condolences about your Grandmother.

    Like

    1. Thank you. I hope that you get to spend as much time as you can with her. I was one of the lucky ones, I got to see her so much and I knew her so well. She is the first person who was really close to me to die. I tell everyone to show/tell the people they love that everyday. Life is too short for anger and fighting.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I am lucky enough to still have my grandmother and she taught me to crochet when I was eight. From the first time I tried, I was in love with it! I kind of let the talent go for several years but I picked it back up when I started college. I have made baby blankets for my cousin’s baby and my boyfriends three nephews and niece. I find it very relaxing. If you need any tips or patterns I would be glad to share some ideas with you! Good luck on your project!

    Like

    1. Thanks! I will probably hit you up! I’ve been looking at patterns, and they all look so hard! I did find one for a scarf that I like. At this point, I’m just learning stitches, and I’m getting them down. I think it’s great that you picked the hobby back up. Everyone needs a hobby, and I can just think while I crochet, and I don’t have to worry about anything.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Wow, your reasoning for learning this is pretty amazing. Perhaps now you can give your youngest an heirloom inspired by your grandmother. She seemed like an amazing person, and I’m glad you learned things from her, even if it wasn’t crocheting. Now you will get to think about how happy should would be that you’re learning it. She’d be happy to know that she held such an impact on your life.

    Like

  8. Man I am getting a little teary eyed reading your blog as well, we never understand how something is so important to someone until they pass away. It is amazing that you are going to learn now. It will mean that she is always with you! I look forward to reading about your adventure!

    Like

Leave a Reply

