Four Balls Later. . .

So this week I planned to start my lap blanket, and I have done so. On my two hour journey this week, I used four balls of black and white yarn. The colors together are starkly different, and oh so appealing. I bought the yarn with the intention of making my mother a scarf, but I really want to finish the blanket just to see how it turns out. The beginning of it looks really good, and I’m so pleased with the way that I’ve figured out how to continue using the same color yarn when I run out of it in the middle of a row. I actually found the solution on Pintrest! I just tied a knot in my hook chain and continued with the new yarn. Simple! Then I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to switch colors, but I used the same method, and voila! A seamless color switch! I’d say I’m starting to get the hang of this.

image image image image image I unfortunately don’t have anymore of that yarn. I got it on a trip to Lincoln and I hope that I can find more of it online! But, until then, I have to figure out something else. I was thinking, while I wait for my black and white sparkly yarn, I would start my butterfly blankets for my girls. I don’t know what colors I’d like to use. Mackenzie loves green, so that’s easy, but Maddisun doesn’t seem to have a favorite. She alternates between blue, yellow, and orange. I think that I’ll bring them with me to pick out their own colors, as they did for their scarves.

I do want to continue learning new crochet stitches, and perhaps start trying to make a hat, or maybe some socks, as I’ve found some patterns for them. I don’t know which I’m going to attempt in the coming weeks, but I want to get something accomplished. So far I’ve figured out how to make scarves. Now it’s time for me to move on to something a bit harder. How can I learn if all I do is the same thing?

I don’t want to start another big project while I await my new yarn, should I actually find more of it online, because I don’t want to abandon it for my blanket. So next week, expect a couple of small projects, perhaps a granny square or more crochet stitch practice. I’ll get back to my blanket at the next opportunity!

3 thoughts on “Four Balls Later. . .

  1. Looks good. I like to crochet and to learn new stitches. Have fun with the small projects those are sometimes the most rewarding because they have pretty instant gratification.

    Like

  2. You are making me so jealous that I have not make anything for about a month now. I really miss it!!!! Where did you shop for yarn in Lincoln? Also, do you know about the discounts you can get usig your iphone when you shop at Hobby Lobby, Micheals etc. ?

    Like

Leave a Reply

