Daily Creates Week 2

OK! Last week went well, thanks for all of the comments. By the way, if you were wondering what movie I summarized with 140 characters, it was The Penguins of Madagascar. The girls were watching it when I was writing that one, so I used it! Well, here we go, week two, March 22-28

  • March 22: Write a story from the point of view of your favorite food (feel free to guess what it is!)

I was just minding my own business, hanging out with my friends when THEY came. I don’t know why they kidnapped me and some of my friends, but we were thrown together in a bag and, blind to our destination, we travelled for days.

After those days of travel and tossing by unknown fingers, I was put on display with a bunch of strangers. I didn’t know anyone there, I don’t even know what became of my friends. A kindly looking woman took me home with her. I thought for sure that her kind, intelligent eyes told me that she wouldn’t hurt me. I was wrong. I was placed in the dark with several of the strangers I was taken with. I don’t know how long we sat in the dark, but eventually, we were pulled out, she grabbed me first. I was bathed, which was nice, but the woman quickly, efficiently, and without mercy, pealed my skin off. She did not heed my howls of pain nor my pleading. She immediately cut me into pieces and put me into the hottest water i’d ever felt. Quickly, the others joined me in the boiling water. With all of us in agonizing pain, the woman covered the container, leaving us to scream so she couldn’t hear it.

After what felt like hours, the woman strained us from the water. Surely she could do no more, you say. No, you’re wrong. We were smashed and stirred together until there was no way of knowing where one of us ended and another began. Right now, I am upon a new surface, exhausted, no longer able to feel. I don’t know what the woman has in mind for us next, but it cannot be worse than what has already been done. Right?

  • March 23: From the nearest book, write a short story about the characters on page 42. (I wasn’t sure if this mean t to write about the characters themselves or use the names, I chose to just use the names from Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare, the characters are Will, Tessa, and the Dark Sisters).

Tessa and her younger brother, Will, looked up at the building towering above them. It was so grimy that it seemed to hover away from the tidy townhouses on either side, almost as if it did not belong on the street but alone in a haunted forest where no one could see or visit it.

Will, his thumb in his mouth, reached up to hold Tessa’s hand, squeezing it in hi fear. Tessa looked down at Will’s dark head and, with a sigh, picked up their suitcase and led Will up the front walk, her grey eyes darting between the two dingy windows on either side of the huge red door.

Raising her hand, Tessa gripped the lion’s head-shaped knocker and tapped the door three times. The sounds of scurrying feet were behind the crimson door, but no one answered for a few minutes. When the door finally opened, it did so slowly, two pale faces peeked around it and black eyes looked bake at them. Suddenly, the enormous red door was slammed closed.

His tiny thumb never leaving his mouth, Will glanced up at Tessa, who knocked again. Without warning, the door was flu open, and the two faces stared back at the siblings. The Dark Sisters moved forward as one, almost slithering. Each took one of the children’s shoulder and guided the orphans into the house.

  • March 24: Share a recipe and a story about why it’s important to you.

1 lb of hamburger

1 package of onion soup mix

1 egg

4 pieces of damp day old bread

Preheat oven to 375

In a large mixing bowl hand mix (I mean literally with your hands) the hamburger, soup mix, egg, and wet bread until it is well mixed and holds together.

Place in a loaf pan and into the oven for 45 minutes.

Make a sauce, 3 tbsp of catsup and 1 tbsp of brown sugar; Mix with a fork until all of the lumps are gone and the color is a rich red. Place atop the meatloaf and return to the oven for 5 minutes

This is my grandmother’s meatloaf recipe, it took me a bit for measurements because I don’t measure. This is the meatloaf that I’ve talked about so often. It’s the first thing that I made alone, and my husband’s favorite. Let me know if you try it and how you like it.

  • March 25:The Most Famous Novel You’ve Never Heard Of- Write a summary for a novel jacket using the fourth title from a title generator while also using two of the titles as former novels by the author.

The Legend’s Dreamer

A member of Brynmor Morris’s family has been the emperor’s oracle since it was discovered that they had prophetic dreams. When sixteen year old Brynmor gains her gift, she is moved from the two room farmhouse  she lives in and her family for the opulent palace and loneliness. With a rebellion brewing, the emperor expects Brynmor to give him the information he needs in order to crush it. Brynmor, however, dreams of Colwyn, a legendary warrior who disappeared centuries earlier. Brynmor believes, in order for the empire to thrive, she has to seek out Colwyn’s reincarnation. So she sets out with the emperor’s eldest son, quiet and brooding Gerallt, and his personal guard, strong and confident Nicoline Paulissen. The journey is long and treacherous, and ordinary Brynmor finds herself on a quest for the legend she’s been dreaming about.

Lugh Grady McNaughton is the critically acclaimed author of The First Princess and the New York Times bestseller The Seventh Wizards.

  • March 26: Write a story about someone writing a story about someone writing a story.

Aiden slipped passed the guard completely unnoticed and saw what he had been hunting for for the last six months. The face that stared back at him was gaunt and tired, yet determined.

“How’s it going?” asked a voice behind her. Layla turned away from her laptop.

“Aiden is about to rescue Nathaniel.”

“It’s about time!” Jake exclaimed. “You’ve been at that quest for like two years!”

“It’s an art, Jake. I can’t just push out pages like a cog.”

Terry popped her neck as she glared at the screen. “Why did I start this?” she asked aloud.

No one answered but the cat flicking his tail on her desk stared at her with bicolored eyes. “Oh yeah. I have to feed you, tubbo.”

  • March 27: Write a creepy two sentence story.

The hotel stood, dark, dreary, before us as we approached, unwittingly stepping into the trap set for us. As the door creaks open, a scream erupts form upstairs, although none is inside.

  • March 28: Flash Fiction- Write a story with a five minute timer, beginning with an article of clothing, which the story is not about.

The tee-shirt was just that, a tee-shirt. Dane lifted it and pulled it on over his scarred back, and pushed off of the bed. He looked out of the window at the trees, which seemed more daunting everyday. He moved into the kitchen and sat at the table as his coffee suddenly appeared.

Silently thanking his invisible sailors, Dane took the firs glorious, life-giving sip of necessary sector. He wasn’t sure how long he’d been kept in the little cabin in the woods, but he started everyday exactly the same way.

That is all! Enjoy!!!! 

7 thoughts on “Daily Creates Week 2

Leave a Reply

