This Week Wasn’t Great!

So, because I was unable to get to my crocheting this week due to a family emergency, I had a rope rug with lights planned for my nieces’ room (yeah, this one)

Photo courtesy of Marla buttery via Pintrest
Photo courtesy of Marla buttery via Pinterest

Cool, right?! I was pretty excited to do it in green and blue and really wanted to get this accomplished, but a family emergency because of which I was left alone with six children under the age of four, I didn’t get it done, nor did I have time to do my blogs when I wanted to. . . yeah, it wasn’t a great week! So, I decided to keep tabs on my online activities, not because I ever do anything awesome online, but because I had no choice!

So this week, I learned that I am a very boring online user! I thought that I spent a lot of time on social media, but I don’t. I spent about twenty minutes at the beginning of the week (Sunday)  looking at crocheting patterns. I was sitting on my couch with my feet crossed (I believe it’s called “Indian Style”) barefoot in yoga pants and a tee-shirt with spit-up on it thanks to my nephew George (GW). He has reflux and after two days of that, I just stopped trying to change my clothes. This was when I thought my mom and dad would be back by Wednesday (they had to go to Arkansas) and my nieces and nephew live with them so I became the baby sitter (not that I’m too terribly resentful, I’m kidding, I love them). Any way, I was on my iPad mini 2 on my Pinterest app and looking through crochet patterns for my Independent Learning Project this week. And I found that rug pattern! I ended up pinning it because I want to make it and I stopped after that because GW was hungry and all of the girls were awake. It was nap time, what I used to think was my personal time, but GW for some reason doesn’t sleep, like ever!

On Tuesday, I prepared a project for my reading and inclusion class. I did this through smart exchange. I made a Jeopardy game for the smart board that we will be playing sometime this week when I can present it. I spent about an hour on this because I had to do so online and wanted to complete it so I could get it saved. I did this after all of the kids were in bed, something I had to do to even get the peace I needed. I was once again, sitting on the couch crosslegged. “Sherlock” was on the telly as it’s on Netflix, and the only time I don’t watch something for children! I discovered that trying to prepare a presentation while also trying to deduce with Sherlock Holmes is uncommonly difficult! The assignment, however was fun, so I got it done and it turned out great!

On Wednesday, I worked on a prezi that has been ongoing for two semesters. I am in an undergraduate research program and have been preparing a presentation that will be complete and presented April 15th. The presentation is about the Romantic Period anti-hero and how Romantic authors (the Bronte sisters mostly) use Satan from John Milton’s Paradise Lost as a basis for characters such as Heathcliff (Wuthering Heights) and Rochester (Jane Eyre) so I was adding and cutting and working on that while the kiddos napped, GW fell asleep on the rug and I just left him. I was, once again on the couch, and I’m afraid that my posture is horrible! I was listening to a novel for my queer lit class, Ash by Malinda Lo because, let’s face it, I have three lit classes, and this week, this was the only way I was going to absorb anything! It wasn’t like “Sherlock” earlier, I actually paid attention to what I was doing and what was going on in the novel (which was pretty good, the others in my class enjoyed it more than I, but there it is. . . ).

Also on Wednesday, after putting all of the monsters down for the night, I watched the Ted Talk and read all of the articles for the week. I was again on the couch, and like Tuesday and earlier, was on my MacBook. I don’t like to sit at my desk unless I have to type a lot, like now for instance! I like to browse and research and build things while I’m comfortable, and I can’t be comfortable with my kids, even at my desk, as the kids can’t let me do anything without trying to help or get my attention. It’s hard to get anything accomplished with them so everything gets done when they’re sleeping. Again, having by then completed Ash, the TV was on, this time I was watching “Stargate SG-1”. I finished “Sherlock” and had moved on to another nerd classic. Again, working on things and also trying to zone out and watch Daniel Jackson (Michael Shanks) be a smarty pants archeologist who also happens to be great to look at was quite difficult. Maybe I shouldn’t try to do homework while also doing homework. Even though I already know this, I still do it because I hang out by myself and I like the background noise.

On Thursday, I spent time researching for a paper for my linguistics class. I wrote about the controversial etymology of the “f-word”. I’m not kidding. I really wrote about it because it was interesting. I found a lot of scholarly articles about it through the University of Nebraska’s library resources. As per the usual, I was on my couch, but I was listening to a book for fun! Yeah, I did something for fun because I had listened to the three books I needed for class the following day and finished reading Frankenstein by Mary Shelly for my undergraduate research for the meeting with my mentor professor also on Friday. My friend turned me on to the book series, and I began the audiobooks on Thursday (The Selection by Keira Cass which was actually pretty good it’s like Cinderella meets “The Bachelor” while also fending off rebellion). I got a lot of information in the hour I spent researching and was also entertained by a well-narrated novel.

So, yeah, I didn’t get any crocheting done, but I spent significant time online doing work. As you can see, I didn’t really spend a lot of time doing social media stuff, but I did get a bit accomplished.

Once again, I am sorry that this is so much later than I wanted it to be. I kept putting my blogs off and I shouldn’t have. Well, It’s done now. Hope that my boring times online were at least a little entertaining.

9 thoughts on “This Week Wasn’t Great!

  1. Sounds like you had a busy week! I’m sorry to hear about your family emergency, and I hope all turned out well! It sounds like you’re a trooper though, so despite having to babysit six kids, you still managed to provide an A+ blog post! When you finish your rope for your niece’s room, I’d like to see how it turned out all hung up and stuff! Keep up the good work, and good luck with the little ones!

    Like

    1. Well, thank you. I’m trying. It isn’t easy to get three blogs accomplished with six of these little monsters. We’re working through things. My parents should be home by Friday and I think I’ve finally figured out a routine to get all of my homework done this week in a timely fashion.I think that keeping these guys for two weeks is plenty. Now I need to leave mine with my mom and head out to a spa!

      Like

    1. So do I! I am still waiting for my yarn for my blanket. I don’t have long to get it done, and that’s my goal, to finish it by the end of the blog for my Personal Learning Project.

      Like

Leave a Reply

