Using Comics to Make Shakespeare Easier for Teens

cool-cartoon-8790692

My initial concept for this week’s assignment, to create something for sharing learning was to create something to help kids learn something. I went with a classic, something we all have to read in high school, Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet. This is NOT because I like Romeo and Juliet. I can’t stress that enough! It’s my least favorite of Shakespeare’s plays. It’s not because I’ve read it for several classes, it’s because I just think that teenagers overreact and are in too big of a hurry.

Because high schoolers are forced to read Romeo and Juliet, I thought it was a good idea to make a visual. This portion is from the actual prologue. I would start the comic out this way, but change it to Modern English as opposed to the Early Modern English of Shakespeare’s time. It is frustrating, because the website, toondoo.com won’t allow me to duplicate this particular comic strip with the same images, at least it won’t save it, then again, that could just be my computer.

I think that these can be used for more than Shakespeare! I decided to prove that with grammar and bitstrips. I think that bitstrips are a fun and easy way for students to do assignments regarding grammar and literature. They are easier to work with than the toondoos as bitstrips are an app they can get through Facebook. I actually had more fun with bitstrips because I got to make a person who looks (kinda) like me who has a lot of different emotions, and I can change that to suit my cartoon. I think that this is something that i would use in my classroom, something that I would use, and assign for my students to use because it is easy, and there is some educational value to it. I’d use them as an assessment technique to ensure that students are understanding the concepts.

I had more fun with bitstrips than with toondoos. I think that these are both valuable tools for the classroom because they are both easy to use and students are able to prove that they understand things that I’m teaching. I think that, when it comes to language concepts and analyzing literature. I think that students (I’m going to be endorsed 7-12 English) will be able to use these tools and not really know that they are actually working instead of having fun creating cartoons.

Commas save lives. . .
Commas save lives. . .
7 thoughts on “Using Comics to Make Shakespeare Easier for Teens

  1. I like your classroom application for these fun little things! I used Canva to create a pretty picture, but I’m not sure how I could use Canva in the classroom. I can see how comic strips could be used in my future classroom though… maybe a comic about cell division?

    Like

    1. Hey, that sounds like fun! I think that literature really lends itself to comics. I’m actually pretty proud of these because they seem like they’d be really fun for students because they were pretty fun for me.

      Like

    1. I agree. I think that it would help student understanding because they are using the things they’re learning as an assessment tool, so I think they could have fun while they learn, which means they don’t even know they’re learning.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What great ideas! You really opened my eyes to the fact that comics are fun for the students to make as well as getting a better understanding from creating them. That way the students are connecting the information to themselves to make the comic strips. I like how it would require the students to know the material in order to make the creation. Students aren’t able to just “wing it” they would have to understand what’s going on.

    Like

    1. I agree. They would need to make at least a little connection with the material in order to complete the assignment. I think it would be a great way to learn some of the “harder” topics for students. Even if the comics are just a quick bitstrip, they are making a connection with the material, and they will remember what they know and what they see from others.

      Like

  3. I love thinking about this connection. I get so frustrated when I think about how Shakespeare is presented in school. It just is made to seem so difficult. I think it would be great to incorporate comics. Teachers could present them before the reading so students would know what they are reading about. It is time to start supporting students and helping them understand instead of telling them what they should have understood when they were reading or doing the assignment. Great Idea Yentle!!! I will use it when I teach…. I love our blog diglit blog…it gives me so many ideas for teaching!

    Like

Leave a Reply

